Seanik Shampoo Bar

My first shampoo bar!

I’ve wanted to try one out for a while, in part because obviously I want to try out every Lush product ever but also because I heard how many washes you can get out of a single bar. 84! Incredible.


But why Seanik? Well. I was drawn to the colour, first of all. But mostly it was the wonderful smell and the promises of beachy salt hair. Having just come back from a week at the ocean, I was seriously missing the feeling of beach hair. The smell is truly of the ocean, and very reminiscent of one of my #1s, Rub Rub Rub. In fact, a quick comparison of the ingredients list (Seanik on the left, Rub on the right), shows that there’s a fair amount of overlap:


Definitely makes sense as to why I was so drawn to the product. Rub also advertises the fact that you can put it in your hair, if you’re looking for extra volume, but I can’t say I’ve tried that out.

I was both skeptical and curious about how a shampoo bar actually works, so to see the really quite incredible lather that the little bar worked up seemed like nothing short of magic. You can build up a lather in your own hands, then get your hands into your hair; or you can begin to build a lather up and then actually rub the bar itself on your hair a little bit too! 


What happens to the seaweed bits?

They dissolve! I was glad of this, as I had images of me having bits of seaweed glued into my hair.

Does the colour stain?

Nope! I was a little bemused by the colour that initially comes out of the bar, but that had no effect on my own hair colour. Makes sense, especially when I think about some of the more extreme colours that come out of bathbombs – and they’ve never stained me!

How do you store a shampoo bar?

Lush sells little round tins that you can store them in, but bizarrely this shampoo bar doesn’t fit in it – or at least, my particular shampoo bar doesn’t fit. I’m thinking that after a couple more uses it’ll be okay though! For now it sits where a soap bar would normally sit, and my boyfriend has strict instructions to not get it wet when he has his shower!

Does the smell last in your hair?

Initially, yes. I was pretty impressed actually by this – I used a non-Lush conditioner that reeks of shea but even after drying my hair I could still smell the Seanik. In fact, just gave my hair a good smell and can confirm that after 13 hours I can still smell it, even though I used a different scented conditioner afterwards!

Does it really effect volume?

Honestly, it’s hard to tell because I do use a conditioning product afterwards, and my hair is naturally pretty big and wavy. Sorry I can’t give a better answer!

Any detrimental effects?

Sadly yes, I find. So I have to take pretty decent care of my hair after putting it through actual hell with bleaching and dyeing and stripping and bleaching and dyeing etc., and even though my hair is now 100% my natural colour, it can still be pretty delicate. I have a lot of broken hair and my ends are super dry – I found that this shampoo bar was pretty drying, and perhaps because of the stickiness of the salt, my hair also got pretty matted afterwards. I’ve rectified that now by making sure that after its dry I get a good brush and braid in, and I use a good restorative conditioner to lock that moisture in. A bummer, really! I think once this one has run out I’ll look at getting something a little more hydrating, rather than stripping.

seanik sharing a spot with my other current Lush go-tos

Anyway! That’s all folks. It’s good to be back. Have a good week ❤️

2 thoughts on “Seanik Shampoo Bar

  1. I’ve been looking for a great review of their shampoo bars. Like you it is my secret mission to try as many Lush products as possible, and I only recently ventured into the shampoo/conditioner area after trying their Sugar Daddy-O conditioner. Just like the shampoo it’s also a bar and at first I wasn’t even sure how to use it. I think i’ve gotten the hang of it now though. I don’t think this particular shampoo bar is for me (I can imagine the salt being very dehydrating) but will definitely be checking out others. Great blog and lovely review.

    Would you be interested in sharing/featuring your posts on Creators.co? We’d love for you to share your thoughts and opinions with our ever-growing community as we continue to branch out. Let me know if you’re interested, and if you’ve got any questions. Feel free to shoot me an e-mail for more information. You’ll find my contact details on my blog. Looking forward to hearing from you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

