intu MK: haul #2

A product to sum up this haul? Ciaté’s aptly titled polish, “Shopping Spree”. Oopsie!


I had SUCH good luck in TK Maxx! It can be so hit and miss, but I seem to be doing really well in the MK branch. All the DKNY and Elle Macpherson! If you remember from my last intu MK haul post, I scored some killer Elle Macpherson then too ahh.

Beauty bits:

From Boots and Superdrug (I have advantage/loyalty cards at both, and with an NUS Extra card at Superdrug you get an extra 10% off!) –

TRESemmé shampoo and conditioner from their Keratin Smooth series (instant love, by the way – I have a lot of baby hair which tends to frizz when heat is applied, but not after using this! It’s close to miraculous); cotton wool pads from Boots; Neutrogena’s Visibly Clear pore and shine daily scrub; Nivea’s cleansing lotion and toner; and Superdrug’s acetone free nail polish remover.

I have very large pores and get quite lumpy and bumpy skin across my cheekbones, so I’m making a concerted effort to up my skincare regime. I’ve been using the Neutrogena scrub in the mornings and then before bed I cleanse and tone with the Nivea, and have really noticed a difference – my pores are tighter, and definitely cleaner. The bumps have also started to go down! I’m hoping that maintaining such a routine will get rid of them all together.


Ciaté polishes in Sand Dune and Shopping Spree, both from TK Maxx.


I also picked up one of these absolutely fantastic lipstick organisers! It was the last one left, and at £6.99 it was the same price as knock-offs on Amazon.

Clothes –

From New Look: underwear as it was 3 for 2, real leather gloves, £2 mustard tights and £2.99 gold lurex socks. And from TK Maxx: Elle Macpherson underwear, and a DKNY bra and underwear set! The bra was just £12.99 and fits an absolute dream.

And, last but now least, a watch and perfume


Both were gifts from my dad, whom I hadn’t seen since Christmas. The perfume he’d bought on his way over from Duty Free, but I included it as he gave it to me when we got home from the mall. It’s by Paco Rabanne, and is their brand new fragrance: Olympéa. It was only when writing this blog post did I first read the official description of the perfume, and you know what, I’m glad I did, because I think the drama of it sums up the fragrance pretty well:

In 2015 a new chapter opens in the Paco Rabanne universe with Olympéa, a modern-day Cleopatra, the woman of all victories. Along her way, certainty and egos are broken, Gods awaken. Victorious and imperial, Olympéa has chosen her hero, the champion Invictus… Her magnetic eyes and her fragrance take us into the wake of her seduction. Her fragrance is a unique olfactory adventure, at the crossroads between the sensuality of salty vanilla accord and the freshness of floral notes.

It’s a powerful smell for a powerful woman. There is no doubt that it’s an Eau de Parfum that targets a female audience; there’s no androgyny, no neutrality. It’s fiercely floral, quite sweet, but heavy. It’s the kind of scent that I wouldn’t wear on a plane or into a small space, as it can be quite overwhelming.

The watch is Skagen, and I am desperately, desperately in love with it.


It looks delicate and feminine, but it’s a tough stainless steel and its copper tone gives it an edge over yellow gold. It combines utility and grace: easy to read with a wide face, brand name not obscuring the hands or clashing with the design, but still looks dainty on my wrist. I’ve been eyeing mesh straps for a while now (one of the Michael Kors Lexington’s was on my wishlist last Christmas), and glad to finally own a watch that sports one.

Oh how happy shopping makes me! Much love to you all xx

2 thoughts on “intu MK: haul #2

Leave a Reply

