Sunday Best

Looking for longevity! I had a Sunday lunch with the whole family and old friend, and so I wanted something that was going to outlast the warm weather, heated kitchen and the cooking, hours of conversation and eating and drinking, and that wouldn’t look too over the top.

I opted for a more natural look, with toned down and earthier colours. I also straightened my hair (my ultimate way of saying “look how much effort I’ve put in!”) for the first time in absolutely ages. It was the first time I’d taken my Makeup Revolution blush and lip cream out for a run too, and was wonderfully impressed! Perfect colours for me. Really must do a full review!

Products used and close ups –

Eyebrows

Maybelline Brow Drama in dark blonde

Soap & Glory Archery

I’ve been beyond impressed by the longevity of the Soap & Glory brow powder, but I also wanted to keep the shape of my brows. I brushed and shaped them, filled them in using only the blonde powder, and then made sure they’d stay in place by brushing them out with the brow mascara.

Eyes

Soap & Glory It’s About Prime

Maybelline Great Lash mascara

W7 Lightly Toasted eyeshadow palette

This was a real test for my W7 palette, as I love the colours and looks I’ve created so far with it, but didn’t know how well it would last in the ‘real world’.

I primed my eyelids after doing my foundation, and opted for waterproof mascara.

The colours used from my W7 palette were Magic and It’s A Dream, with Wonderland in the inside corner to brighten.


Face

Neutragena Oil Free moisturiser

Rimmel Lasting Finish foundation

Mary Kay finishing powder in Transluscent

– contour palette by Coastal Scents

I went all out – using my absolute favourite moisturiser as primer, foundation, light contouring (cheekbones, temple, nose), and finishing powder.

Cheeks

Makeup Revolution, Blushing Hearts blush in Iced Hearts

Benefit High Beam

Beauty UK blush in Upper East Side

I’ve found this shade of blush to work really well with the dee been I use from my contour palette, so I tend to apply all the cheek makeup and then blend together, rather than contour-blend, then blush-blend, highlight-blend. This was the first time I used the Makeup Revolution blush, and I was really impressed with the colours. It worked perfectly as this step between blush and highlighter.

Lips

Boots lipsalve

Makeup Revolution Ultra Velour lip cream in Can’t We Just Make Love Instead

I put on my lip balm after I’d applied my foundation to give it some time to sink in. I lightly exfoliated my lips too, before applying the lip cream.

Hair

  

I have naturally wavy and bouncy hair, and it’s also pretty thick. To straighten it I use GHDs, and I usually do it in two parts – I do a half up/half down ‘do, and straighten the underneath first. I give it a bit of a tousle, flip it around a bit too, so that it doesn’t look *too* straight.

And, six hours later..


It lasted! I still had solidly black lashes, shiny eyelids, filled in brows, and a put together face. What didn’t last was the lip cream, but when you’re eating a Sunday roast that’s kind of a given!

Happy weekend all xx

Leave a Reply

