Makeup Edition: In the Bin!

I’ve just moved into the new flat, had meetings 11.30-4.30 yesterday, we still have no wifi, I had my appointment with my surgeon and was told I couldn’t walk for another six weeks – so. I needed to de-stress. And there is nothing that calms me out more than culling my possessions. I love clearing out. I donate, I Depop, I eBay, and I bin.

After getting all my stuff out of storage, I was reunited with the bulk of my make up collection, and this morning I decided to get it sorted out. I’ve been swatching lipsticks and foundations, trying to remember just how many years ago I bought certain products, and have all my brushes out for cleaning.

I had a couple of sorting piles: my make up case (favourite products went straight in), a testing pile (things I hadn’t used for a while but could still be rediscovered as keepers, and things I wasn’t really sure about), a bin bag, and a Depop bag.

Questions to ask when sorting:

  • Does it smell funky? If it smells, in the bin. I binned my Smashbox brow liner/gel duo pen last week because as soon as you opened it it just reeked of vinegar. You don’t want that near your eyes yo.
  • Have you used it recently? If not, why not? Is it worth keeping if you’re not getting use out of it? Sometimes I have products I save for special occasions – typically my high brow brands, but I also have stuff I haven’t touched in ages because it was just bad.
  • Does it suit you? Do the foundations still match? Was the impromptu-buy lipstick a good call?
  • Is it still functional? Has it dried up or gone clumpy or separated? If yes, in the bin!
  • Does it do its job, would you give it a good enough review? I.e. does your colour corrector actually colour correct, does your concealer actually conceal?
  • Do you have other products that could replace it, is it a useless double? If you’ve bought a better version of the product, get rid of the poorer alternative.

And, a final tip, put cost aside. If something was expensive, branded and has life in it, you can sell it on. There are people who buy secondhand makeup – I’ve sold lipsticks and unused BB cream on depop, and have bought secondhand lipsticks and finishing powder, and my contour palette was secondhand but unopened. As long as it’s been cleaned, why not? A market exists. Don’t hold onto something useless just because it was expensive (and yes, I need to remind myself of this too!)

So what did I actually get rid of?


Natual Collection foundations in Honey and Biscuit (too dark, very cake-y. Originally bought to use for liquid contouring, rather than powder, but blends badly, strange sticky consistency and is patchy on application)

Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse in 021 Nude (so old! And too dark for me, and the orange tone makes it poor for contouring)

Maybelline Eye Studio in blackest black, with brush (so old, all dry)

Topshop lipstick in Saint (really don’t like it, and the packaging is in too poor a condition to sell on. It’s such a sheer colour and the application leaves a thicker line around your mouth, it’s also a little bitty)

(eeeeeeek!!)

NYX lipsticks in Rea and Pure Red (not good colours for me, great consistency though so it’s a shame. Really creamy and lovely finishes)

 

(10/10 does not suit me…..)

Sephora lipgloss pen (so old!)

Primark egg sponge (not for me, absorbed a lot of foundation and was pretty patchy)

Primark eyeshadow pencil (literally years old)

Barry M. Chisel Cheeks contour kit (can be replaced now I have my proper palette! There’s also a lot of fallout)

Jerome Alexander Black Lash Extending Mascara (never used, haven’t had it that long and it’s completely dried up!)


Jerome Alexander blush brush (synthetic and odd feeling)

Opi Suede nail polish in Here Today… Aragon Tomorrow (old, made my nails yellow!)

And ta-da, all done! Stay tuned for my ‘In the Bin’ clothes, lingerie, and underwear edition! xx

11 thoughts on “Makeup Edition: In the Bin!

  1. The red NYX lipstick looks awesome on you what are you talking about silly girl?! LOL PS dont forget makeup DOES expire so check the expiration date Xo

    Like

    1. I am the WORST for makeup expiration dates bahah! Mostly I just forget when I bought them, and then all of a sudden I’ll be like “wow why has this separated” or “why does this smell horrific” and then.. “Oh right, because I’ve had it since I was 16….” Oops! I’ll work on that lol. Ahh I really don’t like the red on me at all, but thank you for thinking differently! Xx

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Everyone’s so sweet, saying that the NYX looks good! I’m really not a fan of it – I think it looks a bit cheap, compared to some of the deeper reds I have, if that makes sense? Plus considering how long I’ve had it, it should definitely be in the bin anyway haha!
      Definitely checking out your blog 🙂 xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

