Happy Lipstick Day!

Just a quick goodnight post to showcase some of my favourite lipsticks in honor of Lipstick Day!


I whipped my collection out as soon as I found out (thank you to Stash Matters for posting about it here – otherwise I’d never have known!), and decided to pick a couple of my loves to photograph. As you can tell, my collection’s pretty diverse – from baby pinks to dark cherry, tomatoes to black; and all kinds of brands, too! Three favourites I did not photograph were Illamasqua’s “Box” (because it’s dry and gets on my teeth, but that colour though~), Suqqo in 10 (absolute dream, but photographs similarly to Sephora’s rouge in Charmer), and L’Oreal’s Color Riche in 116.

The five I’ve photographed are:

  1. Sephora’s cream lip stain in 03
  2. Chanel’s Rouge Allure Gloss in Pirate (19)
  3. Dior Addict’s Fluid Stick in Artifice (639)
  4. Sephora’s rouge in Charmer
  5. Illamasqua’s lipstick in Pristine

Enjoy! X

Here I am, bare lips, wonky brows, spots and all (…sorry)!

I’m really not a big fan of my mouth (what kind of shape even is it?! Why is it so hard to define my top lip and the corners of my mouth when applying lipstick?!), and it’s not helped by me rarely wearing my retainer, oops.

1. Sephora’s cream lip stain in 03

This was one of my first ever Sephora buys, as well as my first matte finish lipstick, and I was hooked. It goes on an absolute dream (thick and smooth), yet isn’t impossible to remove either (unlike the 10 and 24hr ranges..)


I absolutely love the colour, it has such a gorgeous pink tone to it.

2. Chanel’s Rouge Allure Gloss in Pirate


This is the classic red, it is divine. I was a little unsure of the click/popper style, and it did take some time to get used to it. It takes three pops for me to get enough gloss out — it does go on thin, initially.


It’s high shine and deep colour. And yes, my tie-dye Walmart PJ shirt goes very well Chanel, I know, don’t worry.

3. Dior Addict’s Fluid Stick in Artifice


I love this! This was my first non-Sephora, non-drugstore lipstick. It was also my first step into the world of orange lipstick hues! I’ve since bought Juicy Clementine by Clarins and a matte orange my MUA to fuel the addiction.

4. Sephora’s rouge in Charmer


This lipstick is always, always in my handbag. And if it doesn’t fit in my handbag or purse, it’s in my pocket or in my boyfriend’s pocket. It’s my baby, and also one of my first ever Sephora buys. I love it’s consistency, how easy it is to apply, how easy it is to remove, and how nicely it matches my skin tone and natural lip colour. I have never regretted buying this.

5. Illamasqua’s lipstick in Pristine

Including this is a bit of a giggle, because it 100% does not work for me! Blondes that have a supposedly ‘happy-go-lucky’ and ‘bouncy’ persona are perhaps not made for black lipstick. I still tried. Thankfully I bought it secondhand, so wasn’t a big loss! And at least it makes my teeth look extra white, hey. 
Teeheehee! What made it somehow worse was I had Sephora’s 10hr a Rouge Infusion in Cherry Nectar on before and that shit DOES. NOT. COME. OFF. And as someone who makes a hell of a lot of mistakes when putting on make up (lipstick and eyeliner especially), this does not bode well. I had a dark cherry coloured moustache that would not budge — solution? 3 layers of foundation round the lips and black lipstick on top! And ha, even the black lipstick isn’t dark and thick enough to block the cherry out. Kudos to Sephora for inventing the most unmoveable lippy ..I guess.

Penalty pic of me being a moustachioed lipstick monster, and then trying to get the damn stuff off:

 

Anyway! That is quite enough from me today. Have a good evening, and let me know how and if you’ve celebrated Lipstick Day in the comments! X

7 thoughts on “Happy Lipstick Day!

Leave a Reply

