Breakfast in Bed

Comfy as you get, all tucked into bed with A Chorus Line on the laptop and an all-natural, high-fiber breakfast in front of you.

IMG_8753

Strawberries and raspberries bought from Leather Lane Market, organic coconut chips by Fresh & Wild, half shot (4g) of white chia seeds by The Chia Co., Oat So Simple quick oats by Quaker Oats, made using chocolate rice milk by Hain Celestial Group.

I’m not lactose intolerant, but I’ve been an almond milk girl since being indoctrinated by Melbourne’s coffee culture. With the exception of cereal, where I still use ‘real’ milk, I’m a full convert: unsweetened almond milk with porridge, sweetened almond milk with coffee, and soy milk with smoothies (except for ones with banana — almond milk and banana are secretly best friends). Usually Alpro, and sadly normally £1.89 at the Sainsbury’s Local and Tesco Express.

Today I’ve branched out a little bit. I’ve recently discovered Whole Foods, and with it, found that lactose free milk exists in 1) flavours!! 2) brands other than Alpro, and 3) can be a hell of a lot cheaper than £1.89! I’ve currently got oat milk (£1.38) and chocolate rice milk (£1.48) to trial, both by Hain Celestial Group. Beyond excited to go over the top with oat milk in porridge.

Breakfast this morning was delicious, filling, the right amount of sweet, and I definitely felt like I was doing something nice for my body.

3 thoughts on “Breakfast in Bed

    1. Hi! I really enjoyed the rice milk this morning, and will definitely be trying the original soon, rather than the flavoured one. I’ll go through maybe three boxes of cereal a year, if that, and I think I have it ingrained in me that it’s “supposed to be” cows milk that goes with it? I’m not really sure, to be honest! Despite using almond milk and soy milk for around four years, I don’t really drink it on its own (I always have it with coffee, or in a smoothie, baked goods etc., rather than just as a drink), and I think in cereal it’s taste may be more obvious and that’s what’s put me off? Something for me to try and get myself used to having, I think! Thanks for asking this actually, because I hadn’t really thought it out before 🙂 x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve never tried the flavoured rice milk yet but i’d love to try it ! I think it’s great that you drink cruelty free milk most of the time:) ! Keep it up 😀

        Like

Leave a Reply

